Opened 17 months ago

Closed 17 months ago

Last modified 15 months ago

#13703 closed defect (fixed)

KYRA: Legend of Kyrandia 3: Problem with autosave

Reported by: ctoroman Owned by: athrxx
Priority: normal Component: Engine: Kyra
Version: Keywords:
Cc: Game: Kyrandia 3

Description

ScummVM v2.6, v2.7

When you are on the Island of Cats, every 5 minutes a window appears with a suggestion to move, overwrite or cancel autosave. The problem was not noticed at other locations. I attach a screenshot.

Attachments (6)

screen1.jpg (373.3 KB ) - added by ctoroman 17 months ago.
kyra3.000 (1.6 KB ) - added by ctoroman 17 months ago.
kyra3.001 (18.5 KB ) - added by ctoroman 17 months ago.
kyra3.002 (23.2 KB ) - added by ctoroman 17 months ago.
kyra3.003 (20.8 KB ) - added by ctoroman 17 months ago.
kyra3.999 (24.7 KB ) - added by ctoroman 17 months ago.

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (13)

by ctoroman, 17 months ago

Attachment: screen1.jpg added

by ctoroman, 17 months ago

Attachment: kyra3.000 added

by ctoroman, 17 months ago

Attachment: kyra3.001 added

by ctoroman, 17 months ago

Attachment: kyra3.002 added

by ctoroman, 17 months ago

Attachment: kyra3.003 added

by ctoroman, 17 months ago

Attachment: kyra3.999 added

comment:1 by athrxx, 17 months ago

Owner: set to athrxx
Resolution: pending
Status: newpending

Thanks for the report. I have made a fix. The warning should no longer appear. Please test... :-)

comment:2 by ctoroman, 17 months ago

All is well now, thank you very much.
Will you make a fix for version 2.6? Or should I make my own patch?

comment:3 by athrxx, 17 months ago

Resolution: pendingfixed
Status: pendingclosed

Thanks for testing!
Unfortunately, it is too late for 2.6 fixes. The release branch is already "locked".
So, I recommend to either keep using the builds from the master branch or just switch off the autosaves in the launcher setting.

comment:4 by ctoroman, 17 months ago

I made a patch, everything works fine

comment:5 by macca8, 15 months ago

@ctoroman
Don't know if you're receiving any feedback from this ticket now that it's closed, but if so, could you please clarify your comment about the appearance of the warning dialog?

In it, you suggest that the warning dialog was displayed multiple times, with 5 minute intervals between each display. If so, which button(s) did you select to dismiss the dialog?

If you selected Cancel Autosave, then future appearances of the warning dialog should have been disabled indefinitely, unless of course, you restarted the game after each dismissal.

If you selected either Move or Overwrite, then the autosave should have renamed your autosave file to its English equivalent (i.e."Autosave"), given that's the language of the dialog.
If it didn't, it suggests the autosave encountered a problem with renaming your original save file (which happens with both options), causing the autosave to fail silently on each occasion, which obviously will need to be followed up.

Your assistance in this matter will be greatly appreciated.

comment:6 by ctoroman, 15 months ago

@macca8
The problem was this: when I saved the game, after 5 minutes a window appeared with the same dialog. If I selected Cancel Autosave, this window no longer appeared and autosave did not occur. If I chose two other options, no matter which, then every 5 minutes this window appeared. In the game, autosave was called "Avtosohranenie" and it seemed to conflict with the already existing name "Autosave". But the problem was solved. Now everything is working fine.

in reply to:  6 comment:7 by macca8, 15 months ago

Replying to ctoroman:

In the game, autosave was called "Avtosohranenie" and it seemed to conflict with the already existing name "Autosave". But the problem was solved. Now everything is working fine.

Thanks for responding. The original problem was indeed the name conflict causing a false positive, and it's resolved, as expected, by using the saveType test in this case, instead of the name test (but see also #13842 for an improved solution that applies to all games, regardless of which test is used).

However, I'm curious as to what is happening with your autosave file's name. It may be behaviour unique to the Kyra engine (which is fine), or the in-game warning dialog may need tweaking, due to not resolving the initial problems you were having. Could you please clarify the current status of it's name?

I'm assuming here that your game language is English, is that correct? If so, is your autosave file still named "Avtosohranenie", and NOT been changed to "Autosave"? If still named "Avtosohranenie", are your autosaves continuing to update the file as expected?

If you've answered yes to each question, and you've got the time, then there's one more thing we can try to sort out what's going on with the name.

Please drag your autosave file from the saved game folder (and keep it), and allow the next autosave to create a new file. If the new file is named "Autosave", then the in-game warning dialog was behaving as expected, amd there's a local issue with the autosave not changing the original file's savename (which would probably require the original file to be deleted, to generate a new autosave file with the correct name).

Thanks for your help.

Last edited 15 months ago by macca8 (previous) (diff)
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.