#10536 closed defect (fixed)

MOHAWK: Riven: User can’t delete user-created save from Autosave slot via GUI.

Reported by: macca8 Owned by: dafioram
Priority: low Component: Engine: Mohawk
Keywords: Cc:
Game: Riven

Description

This issue only affects users who have a save occupying the Autosave slot that was created prior to the implementation of Autosave support.

Autosave support can’t be enabled without clearing this save from the Autosave slot, so it doesn’t make a lot of sense denying the user from using the GUI to do so.

Assuming the user is aware of this (there’s no notification), the save can be loaded and re-saved to another slot, however neither the Save or Load screens allow the original save to be deleted.

The only available option is to manually remove the file from the saved game folder, or, if the save file is to be retained, manually change the filename’s slot number reference to an appropriate slot.

This isn’t exactly user-friendly behaviour, so some form of communication with the user wouldn’t go astray here.

Current Daily Build: 2.1.0git2168-gc7f3416(21 May 2018)

Change History (3)

comment:1 Changed 15 months ago by dafioram

Owner: set to dafioram

Thanks for your report.

The autosave to slot 0 is really meant for users who do not save at all. If a user already uses the save slots then they probably don't need an autosave option.

I think it will probably be useful to allow users to delete there own save (that is not an autosave) in slot 0, so I will look into the complexity of doing that. Once an autosave is there I don't want the user to be able to delete it (from the gui) so I will be keeping that behavior.

Last edited 15 months ago by dafioram (previous) (diff)

comment:2 Changed 15 months ago by macca8

Thanks dafioram.

I think you're selling the value of autosaving short.

Your motivation for implementing Autosaving was to provide save on exit support, and in that context, your assessment that autosave is only useful to users who don't save is correct.

But the Autosave concept is so much more. It's about minimizing data loss and aiding recovery if something unforeseen happens (such as a crash) during the game in progress. It replaces the need for users to make regular saves to cover the same contingency.

What it doesn't do is release users from creating permanent saves as necessary to preserve data going forward (except in your context), since autosaves are regularly overwritten, and as such, only temporary by nature.

Enabling Autosave is a positive for all users. The real benefit is that you don't know that you need it until you actually do.

And you're absolutely correct, only the user-created save should be deletable, and only by the user.

Congratulations on your efforts. Apart from this inconvenience, it works well, and is a great and long overdue addition to Riven.

Last edited 15 months ago by macca8 (previous) (diff)

comment:3 Changed 15 months ago by dafioram

Resolution: fixed
Status: newclosed

The ability to delete non-autosaves in riven (and myst) was added in 6041e4aca1466098cd903ed7a2eac4f2282d86a5.

Autosave information as also added to the README in commit 0d88be5e05ffc5d00e88f735d538042694e7f2f6.

Let me know if this does not work correctly.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.